Basketball: Maumelle Charter wins, post-season plans set

Paid subscriptions make this reporting possible

Subscribe if you like, pay if you can

Covid cancellations take but they also give.

Such was the case last Friday for Maumelle.

The Hornets had its showdown game against Sylvan Hills called off on the boys side, but the girls were able to play for the first time this year and lost, 55-40. The last time Maumelle played, they defeated El Dorado, 76-70, on Dec. 29, 2020.

The rescheduled game for Maumelle-Sylvan Hills hasn’t been announced.

Maumelle hosts Little Rock Christian on Tuesday, and then Little Rock Hall on Friday, Covid permitting.
The Arkansas Activities Association also announced that the Class 5A state tournament will be held at Bank OZK Arena in Hot Springs. 

Maumelle Charter

Maumelle Charter went 3-0 last week, and beat South Side Bee Branch 56-50 on Friday to complete the trifecta of wins.

Maumelle Charter is now 9-4 on the season and 6-1 in 2A-5 action.

The girls game scheduled for last Friday was postponed and it will be rescheduled at a later date.
Both teams, Covid permitting, will play at Lisa Academy North on Tuesday and then off until Monday, Jan. 25 when they travel to Conway St. Joseph.

In post-season plans, Maumelle Charter will be headed to Melbourne for the 2A-Central Regional and the Class 2A state tournament.

North Little Rock

North Little Rock made easy work of Little Rock Catholic and Mount St. Mary’s last Friday and will host Bryant on Tuesday, with a trip to Fort Smith Northside on Friday.

The AAA announced the Class 6A state tournament will be held at Fayetteville.

The state’s largest classification has always alternated between Central and West as tournament hosts and last year’s was at Bryant.

Central Arkansas Christian

The one thing Central Christian knows is that they’ll be at Clinton for the CLass 3A state tournament, but the Mustangs destination for regionals is still to be determined.

State tournament sites

  • Class 6A: Fayetteville

  • Class 5A: Hot Springs

  • Class 4A: Morrilton

  • Class 3A: Clinton

  • Class 2A State: Melbourne

  • Class 1A: West Side, Greers Ferry