Covid moves CAC-Mayflower to September

Arkansas high school football has its first Covid postponement of the fall.

The Central Arkansas Christian and Mayflower game has been moved to Sept. 17 instead of this Friday.

Mayflower confirmed the move and said it was related to “Covid circumstances.”

Paid subscriptions make this reporting possible

Subscribe if you like, pay if you can

An Aug. 19 from the Arkansas Department of Health doesn’t list Mayflower as a school with a Covid outbreak of five or more, but a report from the Arkansas Center for Health Improvement lists Mayflower as a school district with “at least 50 new known infections per 10,000 district residents over the previous 14 days.”

CAC will now start its regular season at home on Friday, Sept. 3 when they host Riverview.

Last season, CAC went 8-3 in the 4A-2 Conference and lost in the first round of the playoffs to Crossett. This season, Hootens Arkansas Football has CAC picked to finish fourth in the league and No. 24 overall in Class 4A.

Schedule

  • Friday, Sept. 3: Riverview at Central Arkansas Christian

  • Friday, Sept. 10: Carlisle at Central Arkansas Christian

  • Friday, Sept. 17: Central Arkansas Christian at Mayflower

  • Friday, Sept. 24: Clinton at Central Arkansas Christian

  • Friday, Oct. 1: Central Arkansas Christian at Little Rock Mills

  • Friday, Oct. 8: Central Arkansas Christian at Heber Springs

  • Friday, Oct. 15: Southside Batesville at Central Arkansas Christian

  • Friday, Oct. 22: Central Arkansas Christian at Lonoke

  • Friday, Oct. 29: Bald Knob at Central Arkansas Christian

  • Friday, Nov. 5: Central Arkansas Christian at Stuttgart

All games kickoff at 7 p.m. unless noted

#CollegeStangs

Have any additions to this list? Email us at Arkansas@substack.com

4A-2 standings

Bald Knob … 0-0
Central Arkansas Christian … 0-0
Clinton … 0-0
Heber Springs … 0-0
Little Rock Mills … 0-0
Lonoke … 0-0
Southside Batesville … 0-0
Stuttgart … 0-0