North Little Rock: Weather forecast causes change in plans

After originally being set for outside at Argenta Plaza, the swearing in of North Little Rock’s elected officials has been moved to City Council chambers at 10 a.m. on Friday, Jan. 1.
The event will be broadcast live on the city’s Facebook page, as well as local access cable television.
Not all participants will be there either as some will be sworn in via Zoom.
Those to be sworn in remotely include:

  • Ward 1’s Nathan Hamilton

  • Ward 2’s Maurice Taylor

  • Ward 4’s Charlie Hight

  • City Clerk and Treasurer Diane Whitbey

Mayor-elect Terry Hartwick and Ward 3’s Ron Harris will be in attendance in the Council chambers for the swearing in.
Each attendee is limited to eight guests while social distancing and masks will be required while remarks will be limited to two to three minutes.
Ward 1’s Debi Ross will serve as Master of Ceremonies and district judges Paula Juels Jones and Randy Morley will also be sworn in.
The Rev. William Robinson will open the meeting with a prayer, and after Mayor Terry Hartwick will close the event with remarks after he is sworn in for his second term.
He previously served as mayor from 1985 to 1989 and defeated school board member and former state legislator Tracy Steele in a December runoff.

North Little Rock mayor-elect Terry Hartwick