Maumelle High sends five to Governor’s School

This summer, the annual Arkansas Governor’s School will be held at Arkansas Tech University and five Maumelle High School students will be among those attending.

The students and their areas of study are:

  • Eva Casto - Mathematics 

  • Geronimo Mckee - Social Science 

  • Geneva Millikan - Drama 

  • Jakobi Oliver - Drama 

  • Kory Putnam - Social Science 

There’s a total of 13 students from the Pulaski County Special School District and the others are:

  • Jacob Deneke - Joe T. Robinson High School - Natural Science 

  • Connor Keeler - Sylvan Hill High School - Instrumental Music 

  • Gibbs Kell - Joe T. Robinson High School - Social Science 

  • Sydney Littrell - Joe T. Robinson High School - Instrumental Music 

  • Madison Mobley - Joe T. Robinson High School - English/Language Arts 

  • Olivia O’Quinn - Joe T. Robinson High School - Visual Arts 

  • Caleb Smith - Sylvan Hills High - Cybersecurity Specialty Program 

  • Delaney Swinton - Sylvan Hills High - Mathematics 

“We are so proud of these students and know they will represent us well at Arkansas Governor’s School,” district superintendent Dr. Charles McNulty said. “Our schools cannot wait to see what valuable information they learn and bring back and how they will apply it the rest of their lives.” 

Paid subscriptions make this reporting possible

Subscribe if you like, pay if you can

Governor’s School started under then Gov. Bill Clinton in 1979 and is rising seniors at Arkansas high schools. The program is four weeks in length and they live on the campus of Arkansas Tech in Russellville. The program started at Hendrix College and was in Conway until 2018. It was held virtually last year due to the ongoing pandemic.

There’s 400 students selected by the Arkansas Department of Education from around Arkansas and the program and in addition to their chosen area of study, students will also have classes in general conceptual development and personal and social development.

Areas of study include choral music, drama, English/language arts, instrumental music, mathematics, natural science, social science, and visual art. 

The opening ceremony for Governor’s School is July 5 and the Closing ceremony is set for Aug. 1.