Moss named Dean at UA-Pulaski Tech

Dr. Richard L. Moss was recently selected Dean of the University of Arkansas Pulaski Technical College School of Fine Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences after a lengthy national search process.  

Paid subscriptions make this reporting possible

Subscribe if you like, pay if you can

“I look forward to the opportunity to work the great faculty in the School of Fine Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences,” Moss said. “I believe that being engaged with the community is important to our success. Mostly, I am excited to help fulfill the college’s mission of developing our students to their fullest potential.”

Moss, above, has served as the Pulaski Tech’s Director of STEM Success since 2015. In that capacity he administered the Title III program with a staff of student success coaches as they worked to increase the retention and graduation of underrepresented students in the fields of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.  

He began working at Pulaski Tech in 2009 as a Student Success Coach. He also serves as adjunct faculty member there and at University of Illinois Springfield. He is owner and CEO of Moss Educational and Consulting Solutions in Jacksonville. facilitates training on a wide variety of topics in the community and publishes in the area of student success.    

While at Pulaski Tech, Moss has served as Staff Senate President, Vice President, and as a Staff Senator.  He served on the college’s Strategic Planning Team and worked on the Criterion One Team for the college’s 2019 Higher Learning Commission report. Presently, he serves as facilitator for the Association of College and University Educators  Inclusive Teaching for Equitable Learning faculty development course.

Moss holds a Ph.D. in Public Policy from University of Arkansas and a Master of Public Administration and a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science with both from UA Little Rock.

He was Chairman of the Jacksonville Chamber of Commerce in 2017. A member of Phi Beta Sigma, he currently serves as the Chief of Staff for the Director for the Southwestern Region.